Helping Good People At Their Worst Times

I live here in Florida. I’ve been here for 2 months and want to file for divorce. I was told that I have to wait until I’ve been here 6 months, can I file in the state I lived in prior to moving here?

| Apr 15, 2014 | Family Law

In Florida, you must have lived in Florida for at least six months, thereby becoming a Florida resident in order to file for divorce.  You can certainly look into filing in the state you moved from, but that state will also have residency requirements necessary to file for divorce.